Life is Wonderful to Me

(This was originally posted on my former blog on June 16, 2009. I thought it belonged here for preservation.)

Life.

Sometimes it is interesting to contemplate what is happening in your life, and how you got there, and why things are happening. I have really started thinking about this recently for several reasons. First, I am graduating from college in two months, and I don’t know if I am going to be doing what I really want to be doing. I will be doing graduate school in archaeology and I am mostly just doing this because I don’t know what else to do and I don’t want to find a new job and change how I am currently living. Second, I have recently started dating my first boyfriend ever (yes Geoff, that’s you), and it has been really different. It isn’t what I thought it would be in some ways, and is better in others, but it has been a big change. But I’ve loved every minute of it because I think I have changed and grown in so many different ways, and become a better person.

LovingSiblingsWhy is it that the simple things in life are what make us the most happy? Sometimes I am just happy doing the dishes, or vacuuming, or sewing, or just being alive. I need to take more time out of daily life to find those things that happen everyday that are special and bring happiness, and to be thankful for those experiences. I am grateful for my life, and all of the opportunities that I have been given, and what it means to have life and what I am capable of doing. I also want to say that I love my family, and friends, and the Gospel, and all of my talents and abilities that allow me to help others. I guess changes make you realize all of the things you have, and how important they are, and how we should use them. So don’t forget that Life is one of those precious gifts that we are given for a short time, so don’t waste it doing things that don’t make you happy or that you will someday regret. Always tell people you love them, and show that love. Live your life, and seize the day!
(I am going to do a three-part special in honor of Independence Day, so look forward to Liberty and Pursuit of Happiness later this month.)

Leave a Reply

