Bridal Attire/ Wedding Dress

Today is the day dedicated to bridal attire, including the wedding dress! I had tons of fun shopping for the dress, although it was a little stressful with my mom living half way across the country. The dress is pure white, full lace, with beading and pearls. I got it at David’s Bridal and the only problem: it does not have sleeves! With school, work, and everything else I decided to wait until I flew home for Christmas to find a jacket.

We shopped at several stores, and I took my mom, sister, and cousin on several different occasions. I found one I really liked, but they did not have my size in stock. They were getting a shipment with one though, so I waited. And waited, calling every day, until Christmas Eve. By this time I was freaking out because I was getting bridals taken in two day! and still did not have a jacket.

My wonderful mom took me shopping on Christmas at JoAnn’s, where we bought fabric and a Vogue pattern, and she made the whole jacket on Christmas day! It turned out beautifully. It was not what I had originally, but it worked perfect.

I also flew home without a veil because I was planning on using my mom’s. However, her tulle and design just did not work. So we bought a headband and tulle, and my wonderful cousin Camille sewed them together. We then trimmed the tulle and glued on pearls and crystals.

My grandma Shirley made my underskirt with was adorable and perfect. She also bustled the dress with beautiful crystal hook and eyes. 

The necklace and bracelet are vintage, from my mom and dad’s antique store, Confetti Antiques and Books. I got my earrings for Christmas from my grandma. And a good family friend did my hair and makeup both times.

Aaron got his handsome pinstripe suit from JC Penneys, and his silver tie from Tie One On at the Orem University Mall. My dad and brothers also got paisley ties, but in green. 

My beautiful sister wore a wonderful green dress. She actually bought the dress the night we got engaged. My mom and sister were out shopping and called just as we were getting out of the car, and Aaron said I was not allowed to answer it. We called back afterwards, and they had just bought the dress, even though they did not know when Aaron was going to ask. (He had asked permission from my parents, and got the ring from them, so they know it was going to happen).
My grandma Shirley also made this beautiful cape to wear outside while taking pictures. Although the day was wonderful weather, with no snow and relatively warm, the wind did start up, and it was great to have the cape.
Our rings: Aaron’s is stainless steel with carbon fiber and a tiny little diamond. He loves it.
When we went shopping for my ring, he somehow convinced me to get this one, a 10k white gold ring with three squares of four and nine small diamonds. It was perfect, and I love it so much now.

And in case anyone was wondering, it spun beautifully (although I was worried about the bustle because it was so heavy). Enjoy!
Tommie

Leave a Reply

