Sewing: Black Gathered Skirt

I have been looking for some easy projects for making some new Church clothes, so when I stumbled upon this great black and copper fabric, I had an immediately idea. I bought the fabric at a yard sale for 50 cents. I am not sure how much fabric there originally was because I used most of it for the skirt. I believe that it previously had been used from some project because there were traces of gathering at the top, but it had never been finished.

I brought the fabric home, washed and ironed it. It had a tear about 8-10 inches long in from one of the edges, so I trimmed that piece and plan and plan on making something to match from it. I sewed the two sides together, and had one humongous tube. I initially gathered the top of the skirt and found it was much too long. I could not cut off the bottom because of the design panel. I cut off 3-4 off the top and regathered the whole thing (there is quite a bit of gathering). I cut a piece of 3″ elastic to fit around my waist and stitched the ends together. I matched the gathered skirt to the elastic in four places, and basted the elastic in place. I then used my double needle (first time ever and it worked great!) to stitch two lines to hold the elastic to the skirt. I finished the skirt off by using the double needle again to make a 2-3 inch hem along the bottom. The length was a little weird, which is why it had such a large hem.

And Aaron decided that he could only take one picture, so this is it. So far I have loved this skirt. It fits great, came together super easy, and I even had a shirt that matched. And it is something that I can easily wear in summer or winter, and is loose enough that I can also use it when I eventually start having babies. The only thing I might change for next time is the amount of gathering. There is a ton of gather material, which creates some bulk around the waist. Otherwise, its just great. Thanks for reading,
Tommie

Leave a Reply

